Centuries Galore: Fastest Centuries in IPL History

The Indian Premier League turns 13 this year, and it is a festival for people in India. In India, cricket has never been the same since the inception of IPL. It is a breathtaking display of cricket by players who come from all over the world. For two months the fans get enough entertainment and matches keep them on the edge of their seats.  

Over the twelve years, IPL has seen 58 centuries scored by 35 different batsmen. 13 of those centuries have been scored by Royal Challengers Bangalore, the highest by any team. Chris Gayle is at the top of the list with 6 centuries to his name. The first century in IPL was scored in its inaugural match on 18th April 2008 by Brendon McCullum. 

With the thirteenth season of Indian Premier League just days away, it promises to be bigger and better than the last time. As we gear up for two months of great & exciting cricketing extravaganza, let’s take a look at the fastest centuries ever scored in IPL history.

AB de Villiers (42 balls), Royal Challengers v Gujrat Lions, 2016

When in full flow AB de Villiers is perhaps the best and most exciting batsmen in world cricket. His breathtaking display of stroke play can take apart any bowling line up. At that time AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli, the two best-limited overs batsmen were in a record partnership of 229 runs. The competition was between the two, and de Villiers won the race by making a century. His knock studded with 12 sixes and 10 fours with a total of 129 runs off 52 balls. He ended up reaching a century in just 42 deliveries. Royal Challengers inflicted a heavy defeat on Gujrat Lions by a massive 144 runs.

Adam Gilchrist (42 balls), Deccan Chargers v Mumbai Indians, 2008

Adam Gilchrist was one the costliest players sold for the inaugural edition of the game at $765,000 to Deccan Chargers. His scintillating performance came against Mumbai Indians when he smashed 109 off 47 balls, reaching his century in only 38 deliveries. It took him just twelve overs to chase a target of 154 runs. En route to his hundred, he hit 10 sixes and 9 fours and most of his runs were scored through the leg side. 

David Miller (38 balls), Kings XI Punjab v Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2013

Kings XI Punjab was in a dire situation when they needed 140 to win off 12.2 overs with only seven wickets in hand. David Miller came to the crease but soon another wicket fell, and Punjab was looking at another defeat that season. It was then that Miller pulled off a remarkable heist, for which he had threatened to do in previous games as well. In the 14th over, after being dropped at a point in the game he reached 101 runs off 38 deliveries. His destructive single included 8 boundaries and 7 huge sixes and did the unattainable for his team by winning the game with 12 balls to spare.

Yusuf Pathan (37 balls), Rajasthan Royals v Mumbai Indians, 2010

In his 21-year career, Shane Warne described this innings as the best he had ever seen. 100 of 37 balls was a remarkable achievement by Yusuf Pathan considering his team was chasing a target of 213 runs. He hit 8 sixes and 9 fours and nearly pulled off what could have been a stunning victory. His innings contained an incredible period of 11 balls from which he scored 54 runs! He reached this record in a ball less than Miller to achieve the fastest centuries of IPL History which was intact for a good three years.

Chris Gayle (30 balls), Royal Challengers Bangalore v Pune Warriors India, 2013

A list of records would be incomplete without the mention of ‘The Gayle-storm’. T20s are usually criticized that remarkable performances are quickly forgotten because of the frantic rate at which they come. But Chris Gayle’s momentous 175 of 66 balls is hard to forget. It is the fastest ever centuries in Ipl t20 history and remains the highest ever score by an individual. Studded with 17 sixes which is a record in itself, most by any individual and 13 fours his knock was truly extraordinary.

Leave a Comment